Exotic India Journey
Call Us : +91 - 9560420948, 9560420949
Rajasthan tour

India Travel Guide

India is a land of lofty mountains and mighty rivers. Extensive are its plains and no less wide are its plateaus. A vast land with such varied relief is inhabited by about 950 million people. The country consists of three main physical divisions. They are the Great Mountains of the North, the Great Plains of Northern India and the Great Plateau of Peninsular India. The southern plateau is flanked by the narrow coastal strips which are a part and parcel of the peninsular land mass.

Great Mountains

The mountains extending between the Pamir Plateau and the Indus river in Kashmir are known as the Karakoram Mountains. Those between the Indus and the Brahmaputra are known as the Himalaya, meaning the 'abode of snow'. The eastern section of these mountains in Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim is known as the Eastern Himalaya.

The Karakoram Mountains in the northern part of Kashmir are the north-western extension of the Himalaya. K-2, the world's second highest mountain peak, belongs to this mountain range. The other important ranges of the Kashmir Himalaya are the Ladakh, the Zanskar and the Pirpanjal. The northernmost range of the Himalaya proper is known as the Himadri. Loftiest Himalayan range contains the world's highest peak with an elevation of 8,848 metres above sea level. Some of the other important peaks are Nanga Parbat, Nanda Devi, Dhaulagiri, Annapurna, Makalu, Manaslu and Kanchenjunga.

The Great Plains

To the south of the Great Mountains of the north lie the plains of Northern India. This region is made up of alluvium and is extremely level. It extends roughly about 2500 km east to west.

The Great Plains consists of two river basins, namely, those of the Indus and the Ganga-Brahmaputra. The Indus, the Ganga and the Brahamaputra are the three most important rivers of the Indian sub-continent. The Indus basin is drained by the river Indus and its tributaries-the Jhelum, Chenab, Beas, Ravi and Sutlej. The river Ganga in its lower reaches is joined by the great Brahmaputra. Together they form the world's largest delta before their waters flow into the Bay of Bengal.

The northern part of this Great Plateau is bounded by the Aravalli range in the west and the Vindhya to its south. To the north-west of this plateau lies the Desert of Rajasthan. The western edge of the Deccan Plateau is called the Western Ghat. These are formed by the Sahyadri, the Nilgiri, The Annamalai and the Cardmom Hills. Overlooking the Arabian Sea, they run parallel to the coast. With an elevation of 2695 metres about sea level, Anai Mudi in Kerala is the highest peak of peninsular India. The Eastern edge of the plateau is known as Eastern Ghats. Both Western and Eastern Ghats converge at the Nilgiris.